Lincoln is fortunate in its number of half-timbered buildings, many of which have survived for 500 years or more. Built at a time of prosperity most were later painted in dull colours, when Lincoln no longer had the wealth it once had, and not the stunning black and white we see today.
The Green Dragon is a four gable half timbered building dating from the 16th century. It was probably built for a wealthy Lincoln merchant and bought by the Common Council of the City of Lincoln from Thomas Grantham in 1569. By 1624 it was known as the Great Garrettes, it remained as tenements and shops until the 1950s.
There was a major restoration of the building in the late 1950s and the Green Dragon public house moved here from an adjoining brick-built building on the east side of the present building.
Unique to Lincoln, the only medieval bridge with buildings on in England, renovated under the supervision of William Watkins, Lincoln architect.
See more by clicking High Bridge
The Cardinal's Hat building is thought to be named after Cardinal Wolsey and dates from the 15th or 16th century. Originally the home of the Grantham family, after which the nearby street was named later becoming an inn it remained so until the early 19th century when it was known as the Cardinal's Cap. In 1872 it was the premises of Albert W Hall, grocer & baker, established in 1790. Over the years it became a furniture store until the St John's Ambulance made it their county headquarters and the building was renovated in 1952.
After almost 200 years it is now a public house again.
The Treaty of Commerce is one of the most central pubs in Lincoln, many more central pubs having closed since the 1970s. The name is said to come from an 1860 trade treaty with France.
Not sure of the age of the building, it may be a 19th century copy of a half-timbered building.
Leigh-Pemberton house was a merchants house when it was built in 1543. Extensive restoration was carried out by the National Provincial Bank in 1929 & 1970 and presented to the the Dean & Chapter of Lincoln Cathedral on 31st May 1979, the building was named after the then chairman of National Westminster Bank, Robin Leigh-Pemberton. The ground floor is used as a Tourist Information office and the upper floors are self-catering accommodation.
Dernstall House dates from the late 15th century, altered in 17th and 18th centuries and restored in 1969.
38 & 39 Steep Hill dates from the 16th century, with late 18th and 19th century modifications.